www.blastkiteboarding.co.uk
Community for Kitesports in South Wales.

Shop, Lessons, Community.

Register now to find out who,where,when,how of kiteboarding in South Wales!

Also check out www.blastkiteboarding.co.uk
www.blastkiteboarding.co.uk

South Wales Premier Kitesurf Community

HomeCalendarFAQSearchMemberlistUsergroupsRegisterLog in
!!! WE HAVE MOVED !!!

VISIT OUR NEW FORUM:
www.blastkiteboarding.co.uk/forum
!!! WE HAVE MOVED !!!

VISIT OUR NEW FORUM:
www.blastkiteboarding.co.uk/forum

Share | 

Adding to the quiver...

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
griff

PostSubject: Adding to the quiver...   Tue Oct 02, 2012 7:08 am

Hey all...

Im becoming a little frustrated recently because i only have one kite (9.5m Kahoona V3)

Basically, Im not being able to get out on the water enough due to the wind conditions.

I am a novice and i want another kite to expand my opportunities. The questions I have are..

1: Do I get a smaller kite or bigger kite? (I can only afford 1 at the moment)
2: Which size do you recommend? (Im 6ft1, 85Kg)

Ive been looking at getting a 7.5m v3 but not sure if this would be the right way to go...

Any advice appreciated!

cheers
Back to top Go down
View user profile
MarkW

PostSubject: Re: Adding to the quiver...   Tue Oct 02, 2012 7:27 am

Hey Griff
Guess the obvious question is do u find yourself stuck on beach more because of light winds or strong winds?? Also not sure what V3 is like, has it got good bottom end as in u can get out in lightish winds??
At 6ft and 85kg many people would go for next kite up which would b say 11m or 12m.
But we are also approaching winter which often brings stronger winds so u may find ur wanting a smaller kite. But also think about strong winter winds will mean gusty conditions at times so not sure on ur abilities but do u want to go out in 7m winds at this stage?
Sorry not one obvious answer but even with 2 kites there may b the odd day when uv not quite got the ideal size.