www.blastkiteboarding.co.uk
Community for Kitesports in South Wales.

Shop, Lessons, Community.

Register now to find out who,where,when,how of kiteboarding in South Wales!

Also check out www.blastkiteboarding.co.uk
www.blastkiteboarding.co.uk

South Wales Premier Kitesurf Community

HomeCalendarFAQSearchMemberlistUsergroupsRegisterLog in
!!! WE HAVE MOVED !!!

VISIT OUR NEW FORUM:
www.blastkiteboarding.co.uk/forum
!!! WE HAVE MOVED !!!

VISIT OUR NEW FORUM:
www.blastkiteboarding.co.uk/forum

Share | 

Wind theory...

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
blast

PostSubject: Wind theory...   Tue Aug 14, 2012 8:54 am

GFound this article on a blog....

A strong foundation for a good kiteboarder involves knowing about the wind. In my experience as an instructor, I have found that this is a very important part of a new student’s learning and, unfortunately, a part that is often overlooked.

So, if you have not taken lessons, taken lessons and not received any wind theory instruction or simply want to brush up, this is my basic wind theory that I give to students at the beginning of each lesson. This is not everything you will ever need to know about the wind, but it is meant as an introductory block of information to get you started.

“Where is the wind coming from?”

When asked this question, most of my students will stick their finger in their mouth and then hold it up to the wind. While this may be a popular response, it is far from the most accurate.

There are a few ways to determine where the wind is coming from: direction of blowing sand, direction of trees blowing in the wind, even your hair as it is blown! A very easy and reliable way to determine the direction is by sound. Turn until you hear the wind in both ears. That is where the wind is coming from and why, when people walk into the wind, they get the sensation that it is windier than it actually is.

“Wind window”

There are some key terms to understand when learning how to kite.